Articles with the tag:
Close
Changelog
Close
Articles with the tag:
Close
Try in the cloud

Advanced Settings of the Document Editor

The Document Editor allows you to change its advanced settings. To access them, open the File tab on the top toolbar and select the Advanced Settings option.

The advanced settings are grouped as follows:

Editing and saving

  1. Autosave is used in the online version to turn on/off automatic saving of changes you make while editing.
  2. Autorecover is used in the desktop version to turn on/off the option that allows automatically recovering documents in case the program closes unexpectedly.
  3. Show the Paste Options button when the content is pasted. The corresponding icon will appear when you paste content in the document.
  4. The Use smart paragraph selection option is used to include the paragraph mark when a whole paragraph is selected.
  5. Make the files compatible with older MS Word versions when saved as DOCX. The files saved in DOCX format will become compatible with older Microsoft Word versions.

Collaboration

  1. The Co-editing mode subsection allows you to set the preferable mode for seeing changes made to the document when working in collaboration.
    • Fast (by default). The users who take part in the document co-editing will see the changes in real time once they are made by other users.
    • Strict. All the changes made by co-editors will be shown only after you click the Save
      icon that will notify you about new changes.
  2. The Show track changes subsection allows you to choose how new changes will be displayed.
    • Show by click in balloons. The change is shown in a balloon when you click the tracked change.
    • Show by hover in tooltips. A tooltip appears when you hover the mouse pointer over the tracked change.
  3. The Real-time Collaboration Changes subsection allows you to choose how new changes and comments will be displayed in real time.
    • View None. All the changes made during the current session will not be highlighted.
    • View All. All the changes made during the current session will be highlighted.
    • View Last. Only the changes made since you last time clicked the Save
      icon will be highlighted. This option is only available when the Strict co-editing mode is selected.
    • Show changes from other users. This feature allows seeing changes made by other users in the document opened for viewing only in the Live Viewer mode.
    • Show comments in text. If you disable this feature, the commented passages will be highlighted only if you click the Comments
      icon on the left sidebar.
    • Show resolved comments. This feature is disabled by default so that the resolved comments are hidden in the document text. You can view such comments only if you click the Comments
      icon on the left sidebar. Enable this option if you want to display resolved comments in the document text.

Proofing

  1. The Spell Checking option is used to turn on/off the spell checking.
  2. Ignore words in UPPERCASE. Words typed in capital letters are ignored during the spell checking.
  3. Ignore words with numbers. Words with numbers in them are ignored during the spell checking.
  4. The AutoCorrect options... menu allows you to access the autocorrect settings such as replacing text as you type, recognizing functions, automatic formatting etc.

Workspace

  1. The Turn on screen reader support option is used to enable support of screen reader software.
  2. The Alignment Guides option is used to turn on/off alignment guides that appear when you move objects. It allows for a more precise object positioning on the page.
  3. The Use Alt key to navigate the user interface using the keyboard option is used to enable using the Alt / Option key in keyboard shortcuts.
  4. Show the Quick Print button in the editor header is used in the desktop version to enable quick printing via the corresponding button at the top toolbar. The file will be printed on the last selected or default printer.
  5. The RTL Interface (Beta) option is used to change the direction in which elements of the interface are displayed. In the desktop editors, the RTL Interface (Beta) option can be accessed on the main settings page. To learn more, please refer to the desktop getting started guide.
  6. The Interface theme option is used to change the color scheme of the editor’s interface.
    • The Same as system option makes the editor follow the interface theme of your system.
    • The Light color scheme incorporates standard blue, white, and light gray colors with less contrast in UI elements suitable for working during daytime.
    • The Classic Light color scheme incorporates standard blue, white, and light gray colors.
    • The Dark color scheme incorporates black, dark gray, and light gray colors suitable for working during nighttime.
    • The Contrast Dark color scheme incorporates black, dark gray, and white colors with more contrast in UI elements highlighting the working area of the file.
    • The Turn on document dark mode option is used to make the working area darker when the editor is set to Dark or Contrast Dark interface theme. Check the Turn on document dark mode box to enable it.

      Note: Apart from the available Light, Classic Light, Dark, and Contrast Dark interface themes, ONLYOFFICE editors can now be customized with your own color theme. Please follow these instructions to learn how you can do that.

  7. The Unit of Measurement option is used to specify what units are used on the rulers and in properties of objects when setting such parameters as width, height, spacing, margins etc. The available units are Centimeter, Point, and Inch.
  8. The Default Zoom Value option is used to set the default zoom value, selecting it in the list of available options from 50% to 500%. You can also choose the Fit to Page, Fit to Width, or Last Used option.

    The Last Used option refers to the last set scaling during the current session.

  9. The Font Hinting option is used to select how fonts are displayed in the Document Editor.
    • Choose As Windows if you like the way fonts are usually displayed on Windows, i.e. using Windows font hinting.
    • Choose As OS X if you like the way fonts are usually displayed on a Mac, i.e. without any font hinting at all.
    • Choose Native if you want your text to be displayed with the hinting embedded into font files.
    • Default cache mode - used to select the cache mode for the font characters. It’s not recommended to switch it without any reason. It can be helpful in some cases only, for example, when an issue in the Google Chrome browser with the enabled hardware acceleration occurs.

      The Document Editor has two cache modes:

      1. In the first cache mode, each letter is cached as a separate picture.
      2. In the second cache mode, a picture of a certain size is selected where letters are placed dynamically and a mechanism of allocating/removing memory in this picture is also implemented. If there is not enough memory, a second picture is created, etc.

      The Default cache mode setting applies two above-mentioned cache modes separately for different browsers:

      • When the Default cache mode setting is enabled, Internet Explorer (v. 9, 10, 11) uses the second cache mode, other browsers use the first cache mode.
      • When the Default cache mode setting is disabled, Internet Explorer (v. 9, 10, 11) uses the first cache mode, other browsers use the second cache mode.
  10. The Macros Settings option is used to set macros display with a notification.
    • Choose Disable All to disable all macros within the document.
    • Choose Show Notification to receive notifications about macros within the document.
    • Choose Enable All to automatically run all macros within the document.

To save the changes you made, click the Apply button.

Return to previous page
Try now for free Try and make your decision No need to install anything
to see all the features in action